Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Part-time job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I'm a student studying HNC at college, working desperately hard to try for second year entry into Art School next September, and work part-time at a video shop.

However, due to being under-staffed I was thrown from two to five shifts a week last month which obviously distracted me from my studies. I'd enrolled in a costly portfolio building evening class, essential for Art School, and told the manager in advance I was unable to work on the Monday nights it was on until Christmas when it finished. He was happy with that, so you can imagine my horror on discovering I was penciled in on his rota on my FIRST class. There was nothing he could do apparently when I disputed it, even though they get members from other stores all the time. I was nice enough to do it though, even though it put me behind in my class directly from the start.

I have two essential Open Days on the 30th and 31st of this month, so again I told my manager WELL in advance I wanted the 30th to the 5th of November off (as it is my 19th birthday) as a holiday which, again, he agreed to. Last Thursday I received a call from him though sheepishly asking "What days do you want off again?". When I told him he, in a deliberate shocked tone, said "You can't take ALL THOSE days off! We're under-staffed!". You can imagine my anger, but being the kind person I am (;)!) I let it go and simply asked for my Open Days off which was fine, apparently.