Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

breasts - doctor or nurse?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
OK - I've spoken to my boyfriend and he's told me to go to the doctor's (for those of you who didn't read my other thread, I've got a lump in my breast).

But do I have to make an appointment with the doctor, or do I see the nurse? Cos, like, I don't want to say at the desk what I want to see them about, as I know fine well the whole room will be able to hear me, but if I see the nurse I can see her straight away I think, whereas I'll have to make an appointment for the doctor. But, like, I've never done this before :( and I don't know what I'm supposed to do, please help!

Comments

• Options
    i'd see the doctor. they'll have a way better idea what's going on.

to avoid informing the entire reception area what the deal is, i'd either ring up, or just say it's personal and you'd prefer to discuss it with the doctor. it's none of the receptionist's business.
  • Options
    OK, I just meant in case I was meant to see the nurse, I might be better off saying what it was for there. Thanks Kaffrin :) I'm scared about going :( I know it's stupid but... I don't like the idea of being topless in front of a stranger. I'm only going, really, because my boyfriend told me to, I'm doing it for him... because I'd chicken out for myself :(
  • Options
    Originally posted by dominatrix
    I'm scared about going :( I know it's stupid but... I don't like the idea of being topless in front of a stranger.

stuff like that is always a bit wierd, but remember, it only lasts a few seconds, the doctor will have seen enough boobs to last a lifetime, and in the long run it's much better than leaving it be and finding out it's something nasty.