Home We Need You
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Research opportunity - Improving online peer support forums

TheMixTheMix Posts: 3,042 Boards Guru
edited December 2022 in We Need You
Hello everyone,

We're going to be working with Lancaster University on a project to help improve peer support forums like ours and we'd love your help. Matt, a researcher from the university has written a message below to tell you more about it:
Hi everyone,

My name is Matt. I'm a researcher from Lancaster University working on a project, funded by the National Institute for health and care Research (NIHR), that aims to understand and improve online peer support forums.

As part of this project, we'll look at how The Mix works as a support community. We want to examine the interactions between people in posts and threads in the forum to see what topics are posted and how other people respond to them. We will then invite members from The Mix to take part in an online survey, and/or one-to-one interviews so you can tell us more about why you use forums, and what you think they offer.

We will offer online shopping vouchers in exchange for your time and participation.

All data will be kept anonymous, and any forum data collected will be associated with a random number and will not be traceable back to you in any way (we won’t even store usernames).

We have had discussions with Aife & Mike about potential privacy issues. We want to assure people that we do not want to invade people’s privacy or make anyone feel like they are being watched online. Our intent is to gather insights that will help improve online forums for people seeking support for their mental health.

When will this study be taking place?
We plan to begin this research in December.

How can I register my interest in participating in the online survey?