Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Hair care

Anch0r33Anch0r33 Posts: 1,201 Wise Owl
Looking for some good tips for keeping hair in good condition - my hair has just regrown for the first time since I was a young teenager (6 ish years) and I never went through the female teen obsession with their hair. I never learned how to deal with it because well, I never thought I'd have any. 

I'm looking for advice on how to keep it healthy, keep it growing strong and best styling and hydration tips. I'm totally new to this and it's only recently become long enough for me to start considering all of this. 

Advice from male and female definitely welcomed. My hair is excessively curly and I think it feels quite coarse? Would like it to be easier to control and softer! 
               (_)
                |
           ()---|---()
                |
                |
         __     |     __
        |\     /^\     /|
          '..-'   '-..'
            `-._ _.-`
                `

Comments

• ZenZen Posts: 1,989 Extreme Poster
    Hey @Anch0r33! I myself have quite short, naturally curly hair. My best tips would be to stay away from anything hot! E.g. Straighteners or hot settings on a hair dryer, this will cause the curls to loose their spring. I am trying to use heat products less than I used to because Im trying to get my old curls back!

If you're wanting it to grow out curly and not frizzy then I would suggest scrunching your hair when you wash it and don't towel dry it - scrunch it with an old t shirt or something similar, a towel creates frizz for curly hair. I also use a diffuser on a cold setting to define the curls more!

Hope that helps! 
    Alis propriis volat 
  • GreenTeaGreenTea Posts: 12,938 Born on Earth, Raised by The Mix
    edited September 2020