Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Keeping secrets

ThePigeonsThePigeons Posts: 199 Trailblazer
Hi

I've been keeping a huge secret from my family for 8 years now. It explains why I act the way I do, why I slept for 4 months and why I am not going to school.

Everyone keeps pushing me to tell them. But what would that do? The only positive I can think of is that it explains my behaviour. But my parents will get angry at the situation, have all kinds of emotions, treat me like I'm fragile. I'll constantly be focused on wether they ask me about it if I go downstairs. I'll be reminded of everything that happend when I see them.

What is your take on this? Would you tell them or keep it to yourself?
ᴛʜᴇ ᴍɪɴᴅ ɪs ᴛʜᴇ ᴋᴇʏ ᴛʜᴀᴛ sᴇᴛs ʏᴏᴜ ғʀᴇᴇ

Comments

• Options
    AzzimanAzziman Moderator, Community Champion Posts: 1,885 Extreme Poster
    Hey :)

I think that if it's playing on your mind, you should express it in some way. That could be writing down in a diary, talking to a counsellor, recording yourself talking about it etc. But keeping it in without any outlet will only keep it ruminating in your mindx

Much love <3
    FAQ | How to report a post | How to report spam
    I'm a community moderator. I'm here to help guide discussions and make sure Community Guidelines are followed. I can't send DMs, but you can message @TheMix or email community@themix.org.uk with questions or concerns.
  • Options
    BubblesGoesBooBubblesGoesBoo Posts: 3,590 Community Veteran
    heey :)