Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Mental health and struggling in UNI

Invisible_meInvisible_me Posts: 138 The Mix Convert
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Hello there,

so i'm a first year uni student and am strugling at the moment with even wanting to stay in uni!- i feel so anxious and down to want to do anything etc... I've always felt a bit sideline on uni and the fact that im feeling like this and you have to pay doesn't help which is why i'm like I might as well quit. But i'm scared if i quit i wont be doing anything. I've struggled with depression and anxiety for 4 years now and im getting rather hopeless to be honest.

quickly said, I looged online enqiory as call it and they replied back saying I should speak to mentor assigned but I don't get along with her so scared to mention it. She's given me a few drop in wi th the wellbeing team but im scared to go.

These feelings have been there for while, but feel like it' constatnly dismissed when said.
ANyone got any advice what to do?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• NikkiNikki Posts: 131 The Mix Convert
    Hi Invisible_me,
    Firstly, well done for going to university - it is an achievement in itself! It is completely understandable to be anxious and have missed emotions during your first year, especially in a new environment trying to make friends, build a support network, and academic pressure, so you are definitely not alone!
    However, you say have been feeling this way for four years and feel like it has been constantly dismissed - did you see your GP throughout that time? It woue be the next best step as they would be able to advise on further support. It is brave that you have acknowledged that you need some help, and I would suggest that you follow up with the wellbeing team to see what they can offer. How does that sound?