Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Unfair boss and job

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Heres my problem, its too posts combined as i posted it somewhere else too, thank you for reading and hopefully replying.
(also i am NeoNero, but cant retrive my old password so have logged on as this one, although i doubt many will remember me)

I currently work in the games industry, as a tester. And i want some advice, i get paid a pretty low wage, under 10k lets say, i dont get paid ANY over time, the only 'bonus' i get is if the game is finished on time, and that looks EXTREAMLY doubtful!

Over the past couple of months ive been FORCED to work overtime, unpaid, i dont mind a few hours a week, but when im working 9am till gone past 10pm 3 nights a week it gets upsetting, im getting depressed because of it, i left work this evening ready to break down in tears im that upset.

I have to work some weekends too, again unpaid. Today at 6:30 pm the time we 'should' finish at me, the other testers, and the programmers were told are we going to stay late tonight, we looked at the boss and he said, its not a question im telling you (in a jokey sort of way, but he meant it) i stayed till 9 then got my stuff and was ready to leave, it takes me an hour and half to get home after 9 as less trains run and i have to get a bus home, if i miss one of them its 2 hours.