Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Does he have to?

BillieTheBotBillieTheBot Posts: 8,721 Bot
Ok, I've now become so unhappy in my job that I cant stay any more, and am quitting without another job.
But my dad has told me he wont give me any money, despite the fact that I'm a full time student and only 17, therefore its not compulsory for me to have a job.Am i still entitled to get money off him if i dont have a job? Our family isnt hard up or anything, he just doesnt want to have to pay for me.
Any help appreciated!
:(
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    course youre not entitled to money off him. Id left home by your age. get a job or sign on.
  • Options
    Re: Does he have to?
    Originally posted by MoonShiner
    Ok, I've now become so unhappy in my job that I cant stay any more, and am quitting without another job.
    But my dad has told me he wont give me any money, despite the fact that I'm a full time student and only 17, therefore its not compulsory for me to have a job.Am i still entitled to get money off him if i dont have a job? Our family isnt hard up or anything, he just doesnt want to have to pay for me.
    Any help appreciated!
    :(

I've been working since i was 15, not because we are hard up or anything, but because I like the idea of earning my own money and working hard to get the things I want. I dont wanna sound cruel but I'd crack up if I gave up my job and had to live off hand outs. its about dignity girl.

Im only 18 at the mo, but Id never expect my parents to support me if I gave up work. Obviously I cut back my hrs coming up to exams etc but i manage to survive on the dosh ive saved. Im a full time student too.