Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Aged 16-25? Share your experience of using the discussion boards and receive a £25 voucher! Take part via text-chat, video or phone. Click here to find out more and to take part.
Options

What's the point???

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I work in a bank (boring, I know)! You know what I think about a lot.....I have only got standard grade's, I've just turned 23 and I'm making about 13k. Now to most, that's probably pretty crap, and well yes, it is crap - but considering I got a 4 for maths and I'm in a bank then I am pretty much contented!!
My point is - I work next to people who've done years at uni and I am making more money than them + I know that I am better at my job than them. Also, they've usually got a degree in something that has absolutely numpty to do with the job, ie one guy got a degree in art and the other in Greek history or something like that - what the Falkirk is the point of going to Uni in the first place.
I am not being a w*nker, I respect people for there commitment but surely these people should be in a better job than me??????

Comments

• Options
    erm maybe they saw something in you that tehy didnt have eg. more experience, higher enthusiasm, and what not. Employers only count a degree or whatever as only part of the employment process they look at other stuff too. Stop thinking why this why that? if you like your job then be bloody contented! not everyone gets that!
  • Options
    Re: What's the point???
    Originally posted by funkyhouseboy11
    what the Falkirk is the point of going to Uni in the first place.

Right sorry if I go off on one, but.......