Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

DVD Player alternatives

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi to all computer experts out there. I need some advice. My flatmate reckons that she can play DVD's on her laptop and somehow link this up to our TV screen so we can watch them on it.

Can this be done? Someone mentioned a Scart lead or something...I'm not very technically minded. In fact I can't even get an avatar for myself, cos I don't know how to a)find the bloody things and b) upload them.

If any of you guys can help out I'd be v. happy.

cheers!

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    It's quite possible that she'll be able to play the movies on the laptop, but I think that direct-to-tv output is unlikely, unless the laptop has a composite or s-video output on it somewhere. You'd be looking for either a yellow-covered round hole (composite) or black round hole with lots of square recesses in a circular shape (s-video).
    Cheers Mist - although I'm still not sure...:confused: - once I find these holes - yellow or black - do I need a Scart lead to connect it to the television?

I know the laptop definently plays DVD's - its just a matter of working out if it will display on the TV.
    you can do it, my boyf has done the same with his laptop. I'm not sure how but I shall ask him later for you if you like.
    Originally posted by JonBoi
    Cheers Mist - although I'm still not sure...:confused: - once I find these holes - yellow or black - do I need a Scart lead to connect it to the television?

I know the laptop definently plays DVD's - its just a matter of working out if it will display on the TV.