Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Endurance Running tips?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
Hi,

I am partaking in a charity run in January to raise money for Children with Cancer.

Its my first time in a competitive type event.

Its 12 miles.

Is there any other runners here who have tips.

I have a small zip area on the back of my shorts, is there any little boosters you think I could put in there to keep me going.

Thanks
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    - don't start off too fast
    - don't eat, drink, wear or use something on the day you're not used to
    - eat and drink more (but not too much more) in the week before the race
    - enjoy!
  • AuroraAurora Posts: 11,722 An Original Mixlorian
    Hey there LocalBoy :wave:

It's great to see you're doing something so amazing for Children with Cancer, I've done the Race 4 Life twice and I'm hoping to do it again. However, like all great runners, you have an ultimate goal, which is really positive. I suggest getting comfortable trainers, which are just right for your feet, remember you'll be using these trainers while in training, and also in the charity run, and as Melian said, it's a good idea not to change them.