Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Meat/Gluten free, anyone else?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello!

I've recently been looking at the idea that I may have an allergy to gluten, it explains a lot with my health in recent years but also from my youth. I'm going to see my doctor pretty soon (sooner if I can this week) to get tested, but I've started to cut gluten out of my diet as much as I can and see if there's a definite improvement.

I went meat free originally (just over a year now) because I was having reactions that lasted a few days after eating meat (and no reactions for as long as I never) so I stopped. I'm fine eating seafood though, thankfully.

But since I'm new to the gluten-free diet, can anybody who is gluten-free give me any handy advice or handy websites to wander through? I'm struggling to find food, everything I enjoy is gone and I'm at a loss and where to shop - let alone what to shop for, it's bloody everywhere!

I bought some things from the very small gluten-free section in my local Asda, but it's nothing I can survive on for long. They don't have much choice, and it's expensive...

Comments

• Options
    Sainsburys have a decent selection in their free from section. You're also able to have things like corn and rice.
  • Options
    I'm wheat intolerant, and although I can eat small amounts of wheat-based foods I tend to avoid them.

BBC Food have some good gluten free recipes. Some contain meat but there's also seafood stuff there :)

Bit on the pricey side but Waitrose have a fairly good selection of gluten free foods. I've found that larger stores usually have a better selection.
  • Options
    Gluten free goddess does good home baking recipes.

Look for stuff like polenta, maize or rice flour. Baking your own works!