Home Community Announcements
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Expert chat: Disability/Health issues and Employment Tues 25th March 7pm-8pm

**helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
We're inviting to you to put your questions and concerns about work and disability to someone in the know. Just come to TS chat room at 7pm. :thumb:

Who are our experts?
13243078604_cd148ccb55.jpg

Hello! My name is Sarah, I am a graduate with nearly 4 years of paid employment. I also happen to have a physical disability meaning I am a full-time wheelchair user, but that hasn't stopped me from progressing in my career. If anything, I believe that my disability has increased my determination to overcome challenges and prove to myself and others what I am capable of.

What's her expertise?

Not only do I also have an interest assisting people to negotiate potential barriers in work, I will also soon be starting a new role as 'Employment Facilitator' at Mencap where I will be helping adults with a learning disability to explore future work placements and paid employment.

What can you ask questions about?

TheSite has asked me to host a web chat and offer my work-based expertise. Whatever concerns you may have about your transition from education to work, whether they be a physical disability, mental health problem, a specific learning difficulty or learning disability I will be here to answer your questions. I am happy to discuss anything related to gaining work experience, this may include how and when to disclose your disability or health problem and finding out the kinds of support available to you.
sSJMK2P.jpg?1

Hello, I'm Hazel! I'm an Employment Coordinator for Mencap's 'Work Choice' programme for adults with learning difficulties.

What's her expertise?