Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

I just want a 'normal' family

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi sorry I am new to this, and this is my first post and it may be a bit long sorry!
And sorry about grammar I'm dyslexic

Me and my parents have a bit of a formal/weird relationship they are from a much older generation with much stricter up bringing. As all kids/teenagers do, I pushed the boundaries a bit or made mistakes, this always resulted in either being hit or having something thrown at me. One particular vivid memory I have is of when I was 8 years old I was doing a school homework project and accidentally squirted glue on my jumper, my mum was livid and was screaming at me kicking and punching me until I curled up in the corner crying and my sister and nan dragged her off me.

Moving on from that as a teenager I was never given any privacy mum would continually root through my room, read my diary and go through my things. Which just resulted in me constantly feeling like I just couldn't have any space of my own. Even when I was working she would go through my bank statements to see what I was spending and where, always so controlling. She was never happy if I spent too much (i.e over 40 pounds on clothes or anything like that) I was only allowed 1 night a week to see friends even when I was 18 and wanted to go out drinking and was spending my own money and working hard for it.