Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Low Mood, Sliding into a nightmare.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Ok, so when my grandad passed away 3 years ago my world was completely shattered, he was one of the closest and my most cherished family member and prior to his death I had been visiting him in hospital every day for over 6 months. I didn't even celebrate new years that year, I simply stayed in bed.

After that I was forced to pick myself up and continue with life, I did, I got a job doing what I loved in music. I was always tired, it was a stressful position, I even put on a big chunk of weight - eventually I left after setting up a little clothing label and deciding to go to university.

Early on in my uni career, I faced difficulty I was struggling to keep up with peers and later on was diagnosed with dyslexia and I'd noticed my mood was low, I was struggling to motivate myself to get up and get out to uni. I had always struggled with social aspects of life but that was also increasingly effecting my studies.

I went to my doctor about it last year, he was helpful but refereed me for a blood test (I have a vast fear) so I left it for a while before seeking help from the university. I began meeting with the mental health worker at the uni and started to get a real insight into some of my problems. I have now been referred on for CBT.

The real issue is quite short term. I am currently working on re-sits after not getting much work done over the last year and having a big wobble on whether I wanted to continue studying. I have managed to churn out 2 of 7 assignments and still have a huge chunk to go and the official deadline was 26th July. As much as I take on tutors advice, friends advice, try to work I simply avoid and can't seem to get myself to do it.