Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Working with a Full Time Masters

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I have handed in my notice at work and my flat to move from London to Leeds and was told yesterday that I may not be able to do my course part time.

I initially chose part time because I have learning difficulties and bipolar and thought I could balance paet time with work and not take out massive loans... However, it may be full time or nothing!

How intensive are full time taught masters?

Would it be realistic to have a part time job to cover rent?
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    I did my Masters built into my undergrad, so probably not the best placed person to ask.

In my case, working more than about 8 hours a week would have been a real stretch - but I was doing a practical reasearch project that required many, many, many hours in the lab.

Is there a way you can get in touch with people currently doing the course to ask about it? They'd have more relevant experience.

I also know a couple of friends who are doing full time masters alongside practically full time jobs because the masters are almost entirely self study/research based.
  • Options
    I'm just about to finish mine :wave: