Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Internships

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
So I graduated :yippe:

Now I just need to find a job :chin: I've been looking at internships to get some experience in the type of work I want to do, and was wondering if anyone has ever done one before? I have seen a couple that I really like, they are not paid (which is not a major issue) just wondering what I would do for living costs and stuff? They do pay travel expenses which is good.

None of the internships are in my area, because there's just nothing going here atm. I'm not too bothered about moving somewhere for work, I just wonder how I would pay to live somewhere while I'm working? I've been trying to look around for some info but doesnt really say how people manage to afford it, because obviously you can't claim JSA while on an internship I'm guessing? Because then I wouldn't technically be available for work within those three months or however long.

I've heard about graduate loans but not sure how they work, my bank does offer then but I don't know whether I could handle the stress of getting into even more debt!

Any info much appreciated thankies :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    hmmm7 wrote: »
    they are not paid

Pretty sure that's illegal and they should pay minimum wage.
    Well now I'm confused. Nearly all of them are unpaid, just travel and lunch expenses paid.
    Internships are usually in a grey employment area. They are rarely paid, mainly due to the competition to get them.
  • **helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
    Fiend_85 wrote: »
    Internships are usually in a grey employment area. They are rarely paid, mainly due to the competition to get them.