Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Mental Illness and Relationships

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
At the moment, I'm coming to terms with the fact that in all likelihood, I will experience bouts of bad depression for various parts of my life and that I might even need a new diagnosis, due to mood swings. I'll soon be getting on to a course about managing depression as a long term illness.

As an individual, I'm not technically unhappy. I don't have issues with my appearance, I know myself well and I have social skills (to a degree, I have trouble reading body language sometimes).

A big part of why relationships have been difficult before is because of my mood swings. Pulling in, pushing away. My last relationship, my girlfriend tried to 'fix' me and didn't like that I needed time alone. I found it really hard to deal with to be honest.

I'm not excusing my behaviour, or how I have been with people in the past... I don't hurt people in a nasty way when I'm down and I have a high sex drive and am very playful when I'm happy... It's just that I need to 'manage' my moods like the seasons and this sometimes means withdrawing for a while and looking after myself.

So I'm 28, pretty much in to women exclusively (and biologically female, so I guess some people would assume I identify as 'lesbian' or 'bi'). I know I need to sort my meds out an' stuff, but I would like a girlfriend at some point... However, I feel like I'm always avoiding relationships because I'm worried about hurting people, or burdening them...

So I was just wondering if anybody has advice, or personal stories, or anything like that....

On dating if you have a long term medical condition... On how to disclose this to a partner (and not have them run away) and on how to explain how they feel?