Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

I need some direction...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm 25 and I've been working for the same company since I graduated in 2007 (Joint BA Hons Politics and Sociology - 2:1). It's a great company to work for, brilliant benefits and salary, and I've been promoted since I've been here. The thing is, I sort of fell in to the job by accident and was never really sure it was what I wanted to do but it's a very comfortable working environment so staying has been easy. Now I feel as though I'm coming to a cross roads in my life and I'm not sure which path to take... I've always been really keen to teach, but it'd mean going back to education and I'm not sure I could cope with not earning money for a year while I'm training. Then there's wedding and/or event planning. This is where my skills really lie and I think I'd be great at it... I suppose I'd consider myself a bit of a 'jack of all trades'. All I've ever known is that I want to make a difference to peoples' lives. I'm struggling to take find the confidence to take the plunge and do something about this restlessness! I consider my key skills to be: communication; organisation and planning; creativity; negotiation; and giving feedback. I also get a huge amount of satisfaction out of helping people and that would have to be core to anything I do.

The problem is that the job I'm in now is fairly secure and leaving it in the current employment climate for something which I might fail miserably at just seems insane. To top it off, my boyfriend and I are keen to travel but I realise that I'm not getting any younger and I also want to settle down and start a family (or at least be trying!) by the time I'm 30.