Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Retraining within the NHS?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I',m just wondering if/what my options are? It would mean a fairly drastic change in career direction and I'm wondering how financially feasible it would be. If anyone has any experience to share or opinions I would really appreciate it :).

To sum things up, I graduated in 2006 as a Masters student. I went to uni after finishing school with A-levels (music, art, psychology, general studies) where I ended up studying music. I took a BA funded by government student loan (SLC), then stayed on for a further year to do a MA funded by the money I'd saved from that plus summer jobs and a private charity bursary. I've never earned enough (unfortunately) to have to start repaying the loan. Anyway, I left uni, went on to work in various call centre jobs for banks which is where I am at today.

To cut a long story short, I'm pretty fed up, under challenged and feeling like I need to get out, retrain in a more fulfilling career and generally sort my life out. Medicine has always interested me and ideally I would love to study again, this time to help people. I've been thinking midwifery or nursing could be right up my street as I like the idea of genuinely helping people, rather than feeling like a mindless robot selling more debt to people with no money :no:.

I've done a bit of online research and I'm left feeling a bit confused. Obviously I would need to have a uni place lined up to qualify to apply for an NHS bursary. What I'm struggling with is whether I would need different i.e. numerical A-levels to apply as a 'mature' student and whether any savings I have would affect the potential bursary. (I'm talking around £3k not millions!) :chin:

Comments

• Options