Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

How Do You Know When To Leave A Relationship?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I've been in a relationship with my boyfriend for just over 10 months now. He is an amazing and lovely guy who wouldn't hurt a fly but we are so different in ways. We are both Indian but he is quite traditional (not completely but quite - comes from that sort of family) whereas I am more westernised. Whilst that shouldn't be too much of a problem, a major difference between us is that as a student I go out clubbing etc and get drunk a lot and he doesn't. He often worries about me when I do go out. For a number of reasons, his parents don't know about me. I understand why he can't tell them but at the same time it hurts because we are a big part of each others lives and he has been round to mine and met my parents many times this year. I kind of jumped into this relationship just before I left for university in October as I really liked this guy. But I guess we were not friends for long enough before we started going out and we didn't know each other very well. These differences (all of which I have not mentioned above) arose during the relationship and I think we both liked each other so much as people tht we were willing to ignore these underlying problems. Also, the long distance thing has been hard - I study at Warwick university and he studies in London. So I thought, in my third term this year (during which I only saw him for one day) a lot about all these things. Its been hard as I haven't had a chance to talk to him properly coz I was over there he was over here and since I've been back we've both been busy (I was working, he has been on holiday etc) so we still haven't had a chance to get all of our issues out there and say how we feel. I t