Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

A waste of four years?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hi guys, I'm just a newbie on here, but you all seem so lovely and full of great advice, so I thought I'd give this a go. I'm 21 and my four year relationship broke up three months ago. At the time I felt okay, it was a mutual thing between us, things had turned sour and we agreed being just friends was the best thing for us before we ended up hating each other. I was upset, but felt alright because things seemed to be okay between us. The week after we split up, we met up to have a chat and he got really upset, crying and telling me that us splitting up was a huge mistake and he wanted us to get back together. I stayed strong and said that maybe we just needed a bit of time apart and we could see where things went after a couple of months and he agreed and said he hoped we had a chance. Things plodded along, we still texted each other a few times a week to see how the other was and whatnot, then about a month after we split up, he started getting weird, picking fights for no reason and then one day just randomly telling me to 'Get over it, I don't want to ever get back with you, it was over for me before we split up' when I suggested meeting up for that chat. I was upset and couldn't understand what had caused such a change in his attitude. We didn't talk for a couple of weeks before he texted me again, asking how i was like nothing had happened.