Home Sex & Relationships
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Am I too picky? How can I make myself less picky?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
A while back I was talking to a friend on facebook. The talk turned to how I have not had a single date since I graduated uni about a year and a half ago. We both agreed that its a lot harder to meet decent guys after uni but she was wondering if I'm too picky. My facebook friend suggested coming up with a list of reasons for why I would not date a guy.

Different age group, probabaly no less than 1 year younger or 10 years older. Maybe if I met an 18 year old that was so mature I did not realize he was only 18 but its unlikely.

Short, maybe less than 5'5. I might want to wear heels and I just don't find super short guys attractive. I mean I would not ask him to stand against a height chart and say 5'4.9, rejected! But I do tend to go for taller guys.

Really bad body odor or breath or anything really smelly.

Uneducated, I'm not saying that I would only date a guy with a degree however if I'm honest I have never met a guy that has not been to uni that I would date. Lack of education or training past school is a bit off putting.

Unemployable. I get that we are in recession and I think people who flat out state that they would not date an unemployed guy are being mean. However a lot of the guys I meet now are people who left school with no qualifications and have never had anything more than a few temporary minimum wage jobs. They have no ambition to better themselves by further study or training and are happy to exist like that. I'm hard working and want to make something of myself.

Criminal record. I know you get stories about nice guys on the wrong path and redemption but in my experience young men with criminal records are usually thugs.