Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Fixing a hydraulic chair?

Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
I have one of these. In case I didn't use the correct word, it's the type that has a lever on the side to adjust its height with.
Over time, I'm pretty sure it's been losing max height. I sit on it and feel it get slightly lower, and then it won't ever get higher than that point. I guess the air has been slowly leaving the mechanism.
Is there any way to fix this, and bring the chair back to its original max height?

Comments

• Options
    LauraOLauraO Posts: 535 Incredible Poster
    Hi Indrid Cold :wave:

You don't say what type of chair is it? For example, is it an office chair?

I am not too technical and don't have any experience of fixing anything like this, but did a quick search and there are guides online on how to fix chairs such as this one about how to fix an office chair.

However, I would also reccommend you look at your warranty as you might be able to get a replacement, or speak to the manufacturer who can advise you about whether it is something you can mend yourself or whether you need spare parts etc.

Hopefully someone a bit more DIY-savvy than me will add their thoughts to help you out too... :thumb:
    LauraO
  • Options
    Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I have one of these. In case I didn't use the correct word, it's the type that has a lever on the side to adjust its height with.
    Over time, I'm pretty sure it's been losing max height. I sit on it and feel it get slightly lower, and then it won't ever get higher than that point. I guess the air has been slowly leaving the mechanism.
    Is there any way to fix this, and bring the chair back to its original max height?