Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

What are contact lenses like?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
It looks like I'm going to have to get another pair of glasses - my current ones (I don't think, anyway) are strong enough for my eyes any more. :(

I'm thinking about contact lenses - but whata re they like to put in and wear? I will have to check if I can wear them; due to needing to put eye gel in my eyes. (I can't remember if I can use contacts and use the gel)

Any other advice would be appreciated, thank you.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    ive been wearing contacts for 3-4 years and have no problems with them and i use daileys. they take time at first but becomes easy.

i dunno weather u can wear contacts with gel in your eyes best bet ask opticion or your doctor
    Thanks. Have just had a quick google and it says I can't. :(
    I would still go and ask your optician though. Just because google says you cant doesnt mean its the right answer! Your optician might be able to give you advice on what to do :)
    Contact lenses are easy to put in a take out after practice. After a few weeks I was ready to take them out whilst drunk.

I had my eyes lasered a month ago, so dont use them anymore.
    Contacts are easy enough to put in with practice and sometimes patience. If you wear them for a long while, say 10 hours straight, you become more aware of them in your eye and often the eye goes red.

If you choose to wear contacts each day, it's a good idea to have a spare pair of glasses at your current prescription anyway, just in case contacts are unsuitable (eg. due to styes/infection/your eyes just won't open wide enough to get the lenses in!)