Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

doctors ?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
i've been selfharming on and off for the past nine years, but over the last three or so, it's gotten pretty serious. i cut pretty deeply, and pretty regularly, and im begining to loose sensation in my hands, and finding it hard to move them. i think this might be because of the cutting ?

anyway, im fifteen and live in scotland, and im finding it really hard to find out about confidentialiy laws in scotland. i know that in schools, if you're under sixteen then they have to contact your parents, but i wasnt sure what the laws concerning gp's are. so any help with that would be great.

also, what can i expect if i decide to go to my gp ? having not been to a doctor since i was about six, im absolutely crapping my pants, especially as i have a real phobia about doctors and hospitals. does anyone have experience of gp's ?

thankyou,
lauren.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Hi Lauren,

First off I think it's really positive that you're considering going to your GP about your self harm. Although I'm not sure how variable the confidentiality laws are between Scotland and England I have found the following link: http://www.hris.org.uk/index.aspx?o=1027#6 which includes some information on confidentiality in Scotland. Although it doesn't go into much detail about under 16s it does state that parents will be informed if the GP believes that the patient does not fully understand the treatment being offered, e.g. medication/counselling. However, as you are 15 and seeking treatment yourself I would assume in your case your GP would feel no need to tell anyone else.