Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

School and text talk.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello,
In school we were planning our essays on text and chat which both use text talk. We have to add g/y clippings and all the types of text you use. This is also very confusing for me because I'm not good at text talk and always have to ask what the word means, and this is a controlled assesment so the teacher always watches.

I need more ideas on for and against text talk.

Thank you
for reading.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I personally think text talk is a waste of time, and that they should never encourage it in schools. It just encourages bad english.
    Check these out. 1
    G wrote: »
    I personally think text talk is a waste of time, and that they should never encourage it in schools. It just encourages bad english.
    Hello,
    I see your point but using text talk we are also learning because I only learnt what rofl and lol was yesterday, so I learnt something here. And we do not influence it into schools its part of the key stage work.
    Hello,
    I see your point but using text talk we are also learning because I only learnt what rofl and lol was yesterday, so I learnt something here. And we do not influence it into schools its part of the key stage work.

If its part of the key stage work then I think it is influencing it to an extent.

You are learning what certain words in text talk is, but that only reinforces some peoples (lack of) ability to use proper english.

Theres a difference between using text talk and knowing what it stands for. Most of the time I could just use google.
    Language is malleable.