Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Public figure makes controversial statement...

No, this isn't about Monogit's latest "bigoted woman" gaffe. Read this joke.

"I'm quite interested in the Middle East, I'm actually studying that Israeli army martial arts. And I know 16 ways to kick a Palestinian woman in the back. It's a difficult question to understand. I've got an analogy which explains the whole thing quite well: If you imagine that Palestine is a cake - well, that cake is being punched to pieces by a very angry Jew."

This was a joke that Frankie Boyle made on a Radio 4 comedy sketch show called Political Animal in June 2008. He has said this joke on numerous other occasions. Someone complained to the Beeb that this joke was "offensive" and "anti-Semitic". Since then, Aunty has said sorry.

Is this joke offensive or not?

Discuss.
Beep boop. I'm a bot.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Apart from the fact he should rather refer to the 'Jew' as an 'Israeli', I've heard Boyle make far more offensive jokes than that.
    He's a funny fucker.
    no. it's just a bad joke and he's a prick.
    Not the greatest joke, but yet again we have people using accusations of anti-semitism to respond to any criticism of Israel, which should be a completely separate subject.
    Not the greatest joke, but yet again we have people using accusations of anti-semitism to respond to any criticism of Israel, which should be a completely separate subject.
    Agreed - nothing wrong with it, and certainly not anti-semitic. Israel should not have a get-out-of-jail-free card.
    stargalaxy wrote: »
    No, this isn't about Monogit's latest "bigoted woman" gaffe. Read this joke.