Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Surfing the internet during work hours

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I work as a support staff in a school and many people use the computers for personal internet searches, Facebook e-Bay etc. We've got a new manager in our department who is clamping down on non-work related computer use

How strict is internet use at your workplace and can the employer get you into trouble for it?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    KiwiFruit wrote: »
    I work as a support staff in a school and many people use the computers for personal internet searches, Facebook e-Bay etc. We've got a new manager in our department who is clamping down on non-work related computer use

How strict is internet use at your workplace and can the employer get you into trouble for it?

We are allowed to use it at lunch, and when we are super quiet with no work coming in.
    skakitty wrote: »
    We are allowed to use it at lunch, and when we are super quiet with no work coming in.
    Did notice on internet discussions sites there are more postings around lunchtime.

Are you a site.org forum poster during work lunch?
    when im at work i spend loads of my time on the internet, but job is not well defined so it might be something i spend extra time out of hours getting things going etc. so it works out as a happy balance.
    ShyBoy wrote: »
    when im at work i spend loads of my time on the internet, but job is not well defined so it might be something i spend extra time out of hours getting things going etc. so it works out as a happy balance.
    Lucky you- got an easy job