Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Not sure whether to continue nursing degree...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
i am studying childrens nursing in birmingham, though i admit it is not something i have always wanted to do. originally i wanted to be an air hostess and travel...but after realising that the money wasn't great, i toyed with the idea or nursing after my boyfriend suggested it.

i'll be honest, after having a year off travelling, it was hard to get back into the swing of getting up early and going to lectures. i will be honest, i do not listen at all in lectures and hate them with a passion. i hate living in halls, i dont particularly get on with my flatmates, i hate having no money...i miss home and my house, my boyfriend, my family, having proper food as i cannot afford to buy proper meals.

on the other hand, i have recently started placement and i loved it at first. well i say loved it, but then i have days like today where i detest it. we didnt get any time off at christmas, which is another thing i resent. i did however get to go home for 3 days as my mentor took sympathy on me. i was crying as i arrived back in birmingham, something which always happens as i so badly want to stay at home.

i know that nursing is rewarding, but on the ward...i feel almost like a spare part! i dont do anything interesting most of the time, all i do is go and fetch this or go and ask that. i know it will get better, but i dont know that it will straight away when im qualified as a couple of girls on the ward who have recently graduated are already leaving because they cant hack the pace!

i tell myself that i am having a bad day, but it seems whenever i am feeling low i bring myself back to the fact that i hate uni :(