Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

I miss hurting myself

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Things have been pretty tough lately, my physical health problems got much worse (colitis/chrones) resulted in me spending a few months in hospital with major surgery, a serious diet change and changes to my daily routine. It's also put my future plans on hold since I graduated from uni this year just before all this shit began. All this has made me (strangely) wish that I could slash my legs and arms up like I used to do back in the old days.
I started self harming with a pen knife (occasionaly punched the door/wall headbutted the door on a few occasions) when I was 16/17 family troubles and arguements just go too much and I had noone at school that I could trust. While every fucker was out in the park on a friday night getting pissed and feeling up girls I was stuck on the computer/watching telly feeling depressed kidding myself that I wasn't lonely and that I would endure blah blah fuckin' blah...
Of course I did endure, but I did the wrong things: I never told my parents that I was lonely, and that I couldn't relate to anyone in my age group (that's another story entirely) and that I was on and off harming myself. I decided that the only way out of this shit hole town was to apply for uni so I would at least be away from my dysfunctional family and my equally dysfunctional relationships with people my age. A fresh start.
Of course doing this meant I had to study hard, which I did sort of...I ended up beign accepted at my first choice. One of the happiest moments of my life.