Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Getting a loan

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I want to get a loan for a car but don't have any credit history, is this going to hold me back?

I want to borrow £6000. The car I want is about £3000, then I will pay my insurance off in full, buy TAX and what ever else I need then hope to use the rest to pay of my student overdraft which is £2000.

I don't have a credit card or store cards all I have is my student overdraft. I have a full time permenant job although I've only been working there for 6 months and before this was a full time student. I live at home and don't have anything like a mortgage etc

Is this going to hold me back and I'm going to have to wait another few months beofre they will even consider me?

I'm not very good with all this kind of thing :/ Am going to go to the bank later to speak to them and get a bit of advice too

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Don't use debt to pay off debt, unless the loan is going to be cheaper than the overdraft. Even then, i would think, that an overdraft is better than a loan. You don't have to pay it off by a certain time, like you would with a loan.

As far as getting the loan goes. I dunno, but you're already £2k in debt that'd go against you i'd assume.
    I wouldn't use a loan to pay off an overdraft as its likely to be alot higher interest.
    Thanks everyone.

Spoke to the bank and sorted a graduate loan got £6000, so it's £189 a month for 3 years. Paid off £1000 of my over draft already so have £5000 for a car, insuarance, tax and anything else I'll need :)
    Overdraft interest is more expensive than loan interest.

When assessing a loan application, banks use the acronym PARSERS (or variant):