Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Self-development/learning

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I thought that was the best title, but i'll try and explain what I mean.

I'll try and keep a long story as short as possible.

At university I was ill as a result of earlier life experiences. I think criticism/bullying was the main trigger.

But since university I have been involved with MIND and gained a lot from that as my local one do a lot of courses :

http://home2.btconnect.com/wirralmind/

I graduated in 2007 and spent most of my first year after uni doing voluntary work for them and courses. Most of the last year I have worked in France.

But I feel these experiences have done me a lot of good in many respects.

I've bought some books too, but I think I've made the right decisions as I had serious mental health problems at university and so it has been best to concentrate on my mental health rather than a paid job I think.

I do want a paid job, but I really enjoy MIND and get lots out of it, but the courses are in the day. I think I'm in a position where i can work now, but I still want to keep learning. They are doing courses such as assertiveness and promoting self esteem coming up soon, but I may have a temp job.

Just wondering if anyone can signpost me to ways I can keep on learning about the area eg courses, but have paid employment as I think paid employment is important, but then also I have to consider my mental health and wellbeing is still good and want to learn more - I think a job is most important now, but doing more courses at MInd wouldn't do me any harm

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    Soph001Soph001 Posts: 105 The Mix Convert
    Dear Mark,