Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

can they charge me

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
hi ya

im not good at writing on forums but here goes

i was drilling though a wall and hit a power supply we are given meters to test for electric which i used but i didnt pick anything up , the company i work for call out a sparky who repaired the cable now they are telling me i have to pay this

when the sprarky came out i told him what had happend and showed him the meter he said they are c**p and wouldnt pick a thing up he showed me where the safe zones were and i was in it my manager came out and i showed him the meter not working but now my manager will not stick by his word in front of his manager

they wont me to sign a form so they can take it out my wages i have refused as the company have liability insurance they just dont wont to claim off it , its a very large company but im not sure where i stand

danny

Comments

• Olly_BOlly_B Posts: 222 Trailblazer
    Hi Danny,

Sorry to hear about the problems you've had at work.

You are right not to sign the form without confirming your position first. The company can only take money from your wages if you broke company procedures. If, as you say, the machine they supplied was faulty, and it was not your responsibility to test the machine, then the liability rests with the company for providing inadequate equipment.

Your best bet is to get expert advice. You may want to try somewhere like your Citizens Advice Bureau. They can help you build your case so that you can make sure the company treats you fairly.

I hope this helps,

Olly
  • Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    thanks for the reply