Home General Chat Creative Corner
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

my music tech coursework

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9aG6SDvgYd0

hey all
this is my music tech coursework
we had to recreate a song in the style of RnB (modern) so i chose dido-i'm no angel

the link is it
i would appericate some feedback

thanks all
curly

Comments

• Options
    **helen****helen** Deactivated Posts: 9,235 Supreme Poster
    Not bad at all. Curious as to how/why you chose the song - Dido is mainstream pop right? So, not sure how it would work out if you chose something more on the other end of the spectrum?
  • Options
    Hey, had a quick listen.

Wouldn't say im an expert in this so just what my ears tell me, there are others on the boards who might give better feedback :P

One thing i'd say straight away is your kick is very, very quiet. Nearly non existent. I think for an RnB track you need that big booming kick.

I had a quick look on youtube, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylrnLTxm_eU thats pretty basic but you can hear the boomy kick all the way through the track.

That paddy, atmospheric sound you made goes well i think and the bass sounds pretty good for what you need.

I think the piano needs some work, doesnt seem to fit very well in the track to me. Are you just playing single notes in that? Maybe add some chords in there? Fish about on youtube, there are loads of examples out there to get ideas from.

Good effort though :)
  • Options
    Uhm...The piano track would be so much better from someone who can play piano? It really doesn't sound like Dido's No Angel at all!
  • Options