Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Advice/Progression.

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I graduated in 2007 with a French and History degree from the University of Manchester.

The year after I graduated I was successful in getting a lot of interviews for good jobs - I mainly applied for public sector jobs and had interviews between about 15 k and 20k. They all said no and said about the experience factor. Between September 07 and May 08 I had 30 odd interviews, but at the same time did voluntary work for MIND which I enjoyed doing. I feel I gained in more ways than one as It helped me get interviews, made friends, did courses.

Then in June 08 I just took a job working for the local church which I did for 3 months and then I worked in France doing the Leonardo da Vinci programme for 3 months between Sept and December 08.

I'm now back and searching and doing voluntary work for MIND again.

I'm just looking for some thoughts on a few things.

In many ways I'm pleased with the way things have gone since university, but mostly from a personal point of view. I've enjoyed the voluntary work and gained a lot from it. I had psychosis at university due to bullying as a teenager. I was ill twice at university and my personal tutor said many would not have finished university. I can see things very differently now as I've realised some people were just idiots, but I couldn't see this as a teenager.

Since university I've been living at home with the exception of France, but I've enjoyed the voluntary work at MIND and it's helped me get interviews and I've made friends there and done courses and I feel it's done me no harm. I also had a good experience in France.