Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

1st time in court by mistake, what to do?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
From what I remember... I was arrested after calling the police to help me having been attacked late at night. I was very drunk, bleeding and abusive so the police arrested me and took me to hospital and then to the cell. I have no prior experience of the police and thought i could speak in confidence to a police officer the next day. Without any intention of going to court, I queried my charge because i was simply confused and the 80GBP fine is a lot to me. Because of this stupid mistake I now have to appear in court :banghead: I sent a letter to try and reverse the decision and pay the fine but to no avail. What i am most concerned about is getting a criminal record. Any advice for the court appearance (which is in a week)? thanks :)

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    whatd you get charged with ?
    sry, drunk & disorderly
    have you saw a solicitor yet?

if you've a clean record and it looks like a one off incident you can get your solicitor to write to the PPS and request an adult caution

i was charged with disorderly behaviour a few years back and managed to get away with just a caution!

:thumb:
    i spoke to one who said write a letter (which didnt work) or see the duty solicitor at trial. I feel it's too late now to write another letter although I will think about it. This is how i ended up with a trial:

was asked, in my cell, whether i want to pay the fine or take it to court

i accept the fine

an hour later i am about to be released and ask for a solicitor

i am told there is no solicitor and pointed towards another officer