Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Teaching further education

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I have a few questions regarding teaching in further education/A levels. Would love to hear off teachers who are currently doing this, or have done it....

I was wondering what your experiences are with teaching in further education. Is it a very competitive field to get in to? How challenging is it?

Do you get much input as to what you teach? Are there teachers with certain backgrounds which are more employable than others?

I'm a recent graduate and a few people have told me I'd be really good at it, especially as I am so passionate about young people. I wasthinking that the best thing for me to teach would be politics, or sociology... I don't know how much freedom I'd have to choose, but would love to slip some human rights and about social movements in there. I would love to inspire people and know it will be a challenging job, but I love a challenge. I'd also like to take it to maybe do with VSO, or project work in the future.

I am worried however that I my A levels are not amazing. I was diagnosed with a learning difficulty a month before exams and thus received support... However, I got help in university and came out with a good degree.

Thougts?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Namaste wrote: »
    I have a few questions regarding teaching in further education/A levels. Would love to hear off teachers who are currently doing this, or have done it....

I was wondering what your experiences are with teaching in further education. Is it a very competitive field to get in to? How challenging is it?

Do you get much input as to what you teach? Are there teachers with certain backgrounds which are more employable than others?