Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Don't think I'll get the job...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
I'm on a trial at this magazine company. Three weeks in media sales. I started on Monday and spent the first three days listening in to other calls and learning how to do it. I started on the sales side yesterday and almost got a sale but didn't.

Today I was sick. I ate my flatmates cooking and spent half the night chucking up. I called in sick this morning and my boss was like "This isn't good enough. It's only your first week. You can't do this again as you won't be allowed to come back. etc etc" Which is fair enough. But when I'm sick... I'm sick.

I'm getting paid £250 per week for the first three weeks. First week is in hand and I'm terrified I'm not going to get the job.

I graduated in July and have found it really hard keeping a job. I've had a hard summer (my mum died and I'm having loads of financial problems) and it has affected me quite badly. But I'm trying.

If I don't make a sale this next week I'm out and I won't get a penny. I'll have wasted my time and my money (the travelcard to get there is like £40 per week). Has anybody got any sure fire tips to help.

My biggest problem is that when I'm on the phone and talking, the people on the phone will be saying something and then my boss/head sales person will be telling me things to say. I find it really hard to listen to both at once and my boss got quite angry at me for telling me to say something, I didn't understand and couldn't hear.

Any tips?

Comments

• Olly_BOlly_B Posts: 222 Trailblazer
    Hi Starcrossed,

It sounds like you are having a pretty hard time in your job. There's no easy answers, but hopefully the following might help.