Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Making and freezing food

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Just wodering if anyone can help me with this, im 31 weeks pregnant and as im finished work next week i was thinking of making and freezing some meals that will come in very handy after the babys born.

The only thing is i have never done anything like this before and have no idea were to start and was hoping for some help or suggestions.
Has anyone any idea's for meals and when i cook the food do i let it cool down and then freeze it and also what do i store it in.
Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Angelxoxox

Comments

• Options
    Soups and stews and such are very easy to make large batches of and freeze. I don't think you have to let it cool down. Just make sure you have a container that does heat and cold.

I'm addicted to these bad boys... http://img.epinions.com/images/opti/5c/11/Ziploc_Containers_with_Snap_n_Seal_Lids_-_All_Varieties-resized200.jpg The ziploc websites are pissing me off so I can't find them on there. But they freeze and microwave so heat and cold won't ruin them and are really cheap so its ok to lose them :p

Depending on how much you want and how many you are going to feed, just make a single, double or even a triple batch. I find it easiest to put one serving per container.
  • Options
    angelgirl wrote: »
    Has anyone any idea's for meals and when i cook the food do i let it cool down and then freeze it and also what do i store it in.

Yes you need to let food cool down, for 2 reasons.

1. It'll bring the temperature of the freezer compartment up making the freezer work costing you money and it'll slightly thaw any food in there encouraging bacterial growth.