Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Childhood depression

littlemissylittlemissy Posts: 9,972 Supreme Poster
*This thread was moved out from the support thread - just to explain how it starts * - Jim

I know that this thread is about people on the boards who are depressed and the like, but I find myself in a bizarre situation, that I would like some advice, if possible.

As some of you know, I am a teacher. I currently have a y5 class and I teach a boy who is autistic and epileptic. But today he showed signs of depression and I have never come across depression in children before. He told me lots of confidential stuff and ended up telling me that he wants to kill himself.

He had classic signs of depression.

I am trying to get in touch with mum but does anyone have any advice on how to help him. He is a really delicate child anyway, but I don't know where to find useful literature regarding depression in children. Or has anyone had any experience on dealing with it.

I realise this is a strange request, but am curious. Thanks.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Yes i have heard, that depression can be found in children. There is more info on nhs direct and also netdoctor.co.uk that tells you alot more info about depression and depression in children.

Hope this helps.
    A good place to call is probably the Young minds Parents Information Service. They are there to speak to any adult who has concerns about children with mental health problems.

You can see more details here -
    http://www.youngminds.org.uk/parents/more-about-the-parents-information-service/what-is-the-parents-information-service

And the number is 0800 018 2138