Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

1st degree vs 2nd degree

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
Was just wondering how harder or how much more effort a master requires compared to an undergraduate degree?
Just dawned on me that I (or my parents) are going to pay a ridiculous amount of money, and apart from the fact that I find the subject and modules really interesting I have no clue what I am getting into.
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I depends on your masters. I got a 2nd class degree but my MA was totally different. Maybe it's because it's more vocational but most of my course consisted of 9 to 5 days working on campus. Maybe its the extra pressure but I actually got a higher mark in my MA than I did in my degree.

But i guess it depends what subject you do.

Edit: I beleive i may have got the wrong idea here. But i do think an MA includes much more work.
    I am just finishing off my MA dissertation at the moment! Doing an MA was a bit of a step up for me in terms of work load, but nothing too hard. How many lectures etc. you have a week depends on your course but we only had five hours a week. We had from September till June to produce 6x5000 word essays and get feedback on them as we were writing them, and then June till September to produce a 15000 word dissertation. As long as you plan your time and don't leave everything till the last minute, it is fine!