Home Politics & Debate
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Over the counter chlamydia drug

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Story
For the first time an antibiotic for chlamydia is to be made available from pharmacists, without a prescription.

Naturally, people are worried that, shock-horror, people may now......have sex without being punished for it. :nervous:

What do you think?

Comments

• Options
    Call me old fashioned but I'd rather people get a diagnosis before taking antibiotics.
  • Options
    I'm with Budda on the medical (but I'm not a Doctor so its gut rather than expert), especially as overuse of anti-biotics can lead to virus developing an immunity.

But other than that I can't see the problem, it's no different from being able to get lots of other things over the counter
  • Options
    budda wrote: »
    Call me old fashioned but I'd rather people get a diagnosis before taking antibiotics.
    I agree. Improper use of antibiotics is the main reason we now have strains of MRSA resistant even to vancomycin, which is one of the very few last lines of defence against multi-resistant bacterial strains. The problem is only going to get worse, and we need to be keeping their use to a minimum. Self-diagnosis should not be adequate for a prescription.
  • Options
    Indrid ColdIndrid Cold Posts: 16,688 Skive's The Limit
    No-one will be able to simply walk off the street and buy the drug without some evidence they have chlamydia, or are likely to have it.
    Unless I misunderstood, a diagnosis will still be needed?
  • Options

That's what I thought :confused: although I don't think someone needs antibiotics if they have had sex with someone who has tested positive, they should be tested themselves, it doesn't necessarily mean transmission yadda yadda yadda.