Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

ID Problem

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    When i used to work in an off-licence we only took passport, full driving licence, portman/citizen card and photo credit card.
    Tough shit. Had you known that you'd be travelling, you should have checked this weeks, maybe even months in advance to make sure it would cause no problems. This is entirely your own fault.
    I don't have any problems with traveling. I'll have my passport in time.
    Do you actually know what kind of penalties staff can face if they serve under-age customers in bars and shops? For two years, I worked in a shop and dealt with this issue on a daily basis. I was told if I had even the slightest doubt about someone's age when purchasing age-restricted products, (usually alcohol and tobacco) I was to immediately ask for ID.
    I don't look under 18. There's not a single idiot who could mistake me for being under 18. My current passport (which expired on Wednesday) says that I'm comfortably legal age. The only thing stopping me from getting served is the expiry date of the passport itself and that is mind-numbingly draconian.

God knows what kind of muppet was serving my brother when he got refused alcohol at the grand old age of 29. And that's saying something 'cause he looks the wrong side of 39.

My initial "shameful ID policing" comment was geared towards the clubs of London that blatantly discriminate based on gender. I've seen it far too many times. You're a good looking girl? Come in, don't worry about the ID, we won't even check! These places are primarily concerned about filling their dance floors with eligible ladies and they'll turn a blind eye to ID checking when it suits them.