Home Home, Law & Money
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

CRB check needed to help kids club?

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello

I have been helping at a kids sports club for several months without a CRB check being mentioned. I also train with the club which is how I ended up helping the kids class too. I just ended up helping the kids if I arrived a bit early and now I help with the whole class if I finish work in time. Today a friend was really shocked that I was allowed to help the kids class without having been asked to get a CRB check done.

Is it a legal requirement that all helpers who work with children have a CRB check? I have had several enhanced checks done (the most recent was about 18 months ago) and I am not worried about having one done now if it is needed so that isn't an issue. I was just a bit surprised that someone was so shocked I was being allowed to help with children without the club running a check, especially as the kids parents are always present. I never take the class nor am I ever the only adult present as the instructor and parents are always there too so I assumed that I wouldn't need to be CRB checked.

Just wondered if anyone knew if it was policy for anyone who is just helping out must be CRB checked. As I said it isn't an issue should the instructor want me to get an up to date one or provide a copy of my most recent but am more interested in whether it should have been asked for already.

Thank you

Comments

• Options
    Sounds like the pc brigade again.
  • Options
    icey wrote: »
    Sounds like the pc brigade again.
    That's what I thought but then worried in case I was being too laid back about it all. Thanks :)
  • Options