Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

new rant about uni and pressure on students

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
I've just put up a rant about the pressure everyone puts on students and young people to go to university.

Go here to read it. :)

~Mei~
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    i just scanned through it, but i do agree. i personally feel like that was really the only option. when i was in 6th form a while back, my tutor would get quite arsey with anyone who didn't want to go to university, and when i said that i wanted to do fine art, he was like, hmmm maybe you should do something like photography instead.. he didn't care that art was my passion. i'm studying photography and video anyway now... i sometimes wonder if i made the right choice, but may as well continue because i don't have much luck with jobs...etc. bleh
    It's always nice to be proven right.
    stargalaxy wrote: »
    It's always nice to be proven right.
    How has this proven you right? Thought you were still planning to go...
    i remember in my final year of college, any time spent with my personal tutor was all about uni. ucas applications, interview techniques, personal statements, fucking endless. I was one of the few who was adament i didnt want to go - id simply had enough and had been in the system long enough as i saw it. I just did not want to sign myself up for 3 more years of it at all. But after a year on my arse, whilst everyone i knew moved on to uni, jobs, etc, and the realisation that doing what i was doing wasnt getting me anywhere in life, i came round to the idea of uni and now i couldnt imagine having NOT signed up.