Home General Chat
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨
Options

Buying a bike

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited January 2023 in General Chat
Hi just wondered if anyone knew a bit about bikes and could give me some advice. Im thinking of buying a reconditioned hybrid from this place called the bike station i know of here..theyve got a really good reputation for selling good quality reconditioned bikes but im pretty new to this stuff so wondered If anyone had some advice what to look for when buying a 2nd hand/reconditioned bike? I know i can ask them too but just kind of want to go armed with a little knowledge so i know a little more what go talking about before i talk to them about it! Thanks! :)
Post edited by JustV on

Comments

• Options
    Hmm when buying a second hand bike ...
    i'd ask when tyres /inner tubes were last replaced (if at all) - and any punctures that were fixed.

I'd ask if there were any new parts since purchase, and why they did it (preference vs problematic)

make sure it has the tyres that you want it for - i.e if you're riding to work in the road, get road tyres - if you're riding forests and mountains to get to work as a goat herder - go for the mountain bike tyres.

errrrrrr I'm sure someone else will be along with more info :)
  • Options
    Hmm when buying a second hand bike ...
    i'd ask when tyres /inner tubes were last replaced (if at all) - and any punctures that were fixed.

I'd ask if there were any new parts since purchase, and why they did it (preference vs problematic)

make sure it has the tyres that you want it for - i.e if you're riding to work in the road, get road tyres - if you're riding forests and mountains to get to work as a goat herder - go for the mountain bike tyres.

errrrrrr I'm sure someone else will be along with more info :)