Home Work & Study
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

considering leaving college! arrgh!

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
edited March 27 in Work & Study
i'm having problems at college. i'm studying for a btec national diploma in travel and tourism, in my first year. i originally wanted to a btec nd in catering and hospitality, as it fitted perfectly with what i want to do as a career and i could do both assignment work and practical stuff in kitchen and restaurant. but on the first day of college, they said they had to cancel the course because there wasn't enough students to do the course and they couldn't finance the course. so i had to do travel and tourism instead. :banghead:

but i'm not enjoying it. i was meant to go back to college on monday, but just havent had the motivation or willpower to go in, and now the college keep phoning me to see where i am. i dont want to be a travel agent or a club rep or tour guide, so the work is completely irrrelavent to me.

i struggle to keep up with the workload, and quite frankly i get so bored at college sometimes because im permantly stuck behind a desk listening to my teacher waffle on or at a computer all day typing up assignments.

another factor in this is that i have to travel bout 25 miles to get to college (a lot i know, the reason i was willing to put up with it was because the college i'm at is the only one to offer the btec national diploma in catering and hospitality in my area, which is now a waste of time). so because i have to get up early in the morning and get home late, i just dont have the energy to do any studying of an evening.