Home Health & Wellbeing
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

Running a Marathon and/or Long Routes

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Was just wondering how many people here have run marathons and/or really long races.

I'm hopefully doing the 'Race for Life' in May, which is only 5K. I tend to train with three 3K runs a week as I have only just started, though as from this week I'll be doing two 3K and one 5K and hopefully, time permitting, a 20 minute swim.

I am considering running the London Marathon next year for the Dyspraxia Foundation if I am up for it and have time to train once I start working.

I was wondering if anybody has any advice on nutritian for running as I'm a newbie (I'm vegan, but can easily work out vegan alternatives to what non-vegans consume) and also on training.

What kind of programs do you use?

What is your typical day's food?

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    Typically 60-65% carbs roughly. But carb quantity changes directly with the amount of training you are doing. You should also take on more veg. and more importantly consider protein intake. When you are training you not only need the fuel to complete the task but the protein to repair the working muscles. There are many nutritionist sited on the web you can check out to find meal/snack ideas whilst you train and do events.
    I've no advice but good luck!
  • C FunkC Funk Deactivated Posts: 163 Helping Hand
    Hey Namaste,

Training for a marathon can be a really tough test of the body and mind. You'll have to change a few aspects of your lifestyle to achieve your goals.