Home Drink & Drugs
If you need urgent support, call 999 or go to your nearest A&E. To contact our Crisis Messenger (open 24/7) text THEMIX to 85258.
Read the community guidelines before posting ✨

If you could go back in time...

Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
Hello, new to this forum (as you can see!), but I have been browsing it for a couple of years :)

My question is: If you could go back in time and speak with your younger self, before you had tried drugs (illegal or otherwise), what advice would you give yourself?

For example Would you:
...advise against trying anything?
…advise yourself not to try certain substances?
…say you should have tried more while you had the chance?
…say you should wait until you are older before ‘starting’
…or say nothing at all, you are please with your decisions so far!

For myself, I would say:

Don’t bother spending SO much money on drink while going out at UNI (but maybe that’s just the students right of passage). The nights involving large memory loss are mostly pointless!

Refrain purchasing coke(although Ive only bought maybe a total of £200). It generally turns out to be a waste of money and just makes me edgy.

Limit mdma usage to once every 2 months max(it was once a month for the 1st year). Moderation is the key!

At this moment in time I would not tell myself to never have tried anything. If I have any long term side effects, this opinion may change.

Sen.

Comments

• Former MemberFormer Member Posts: 1,876,323 The Mix Honorary Guru
    I'd give similar advice as I do to anyone young, be very careful with what you do because the effects on a developing brain and personality are varied and difficult to predict.
    honestly, i'd say to myself - "don't bother!" :D
    Just not to take as many E's or shrooms and don't bother with dope at all. :)
    ^ What the Irish man said.

I didn't really enjoy shrooms...
  • SkiveSkive Posts: 15,282 Skive's The Limit